Back to All Events

Music for a Changing World

  • Michael Schimmel Center for the Arts 3 Spruce Street New York, NY (map)
Harumi Hanafusa and KCO at curtain call

Harumi Hanafusa and KCO at curtain call

The Knickerbocker Chamber Orchestra
Gary Fagin, Conductor
Harumi Hanafusa, Piano




KURT WEILL                         Suite from Aufsteig und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny (1930, 2012)
(1900 - 1950)                                 World premiere.
(arr. Gary Fagin)                            Presented by kind permission of the Kurt Weill Foundation for Music
MAURICE RAVEL                Piano Concerto in G Major (1931)
(1875-1937)                                                  Allegramente
                                                                     Adagio Assai
                                                        Harumi Hanafusa, Piano
AKIRA NISHIMURA          A Shaman (2004)
(b. 1953)
                                                       Harumi Hanafusa, Piano
                                                       American premiere
Charles Ives                            Symphony No. 3, The Camp Meeting (1908 - 1910)
(1874-1954)                                                  1.  Old Folks Gatherin’ – Andante maestoso
                                                                     2.  Children’s Day - Allegro
                                                                     3.  Communion - Largo